What is the penalty for driving without car insurance in Maine?

I'm moving to Maine, but it looks like as soon as I establish residency there my premiums will go up. Can I forego insurance instead? What will happen if I do?

Answer
“In Maine, it’s not legal to drive without car insurance, and if caught, the consequences could far outweigh the costs of your monthly premiums.
For instance, penalties for driving without insurance include:
  • jail time of up to six months
  • a fine of between $100 and $500
  • your driver’s license and vehicle registration can also be suspended
If price is an obstacle for obtaining car insurance, Jerry can help. Jerry pulls quotes from the top 50 companies and delivers the best deals to your phone in minutes.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Aug 03, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.