What is the penalty for driving without a valid license in Connecticut?

What are the fines for driving a vehicle if I don't have my license yet? I'm a minor and it's my parents' car.

Answer
“Driving without a valid license in Connecticut is considered a traffic infraction and carries a $75 to $90 fine. Subsequent offenses are misdemeanors and face more serious repercussions, such as:
  • a fine of $250 to $300
  • 90-day license suspension
  • up to 30 days in jail
If you are under the age of 18, you will also be precluded from obtaining a license for one year.
When operating a vehicle that’s not your own, you’ll also want to make sure you are covered under a car insurance policy to mitigate some of the negative consequences.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 27, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free