What is the penalty for driving without a license in Virginia?

I've borrowed my brother's car for years and since I'm a careful driver, I've never gotten pulled over. What are the risks if I did?

Answer
“Driving without a license in Virginia poses significant risks for both you and your brother. A first offense is a mid-level misdemeanor with a penalty of up to six months in jail and a maximum $1,000 fine.
On top of that, a judge may suspend your driving privileges for up to 90 days and your car (your brother’s car) can be impounded until you get a valid license or for three days, whichever is less.
You’ll be responsible for paying the impound and storage fees and your brother’s car insurance rates could increase significantly.
Even if you’re a careful driver, the risks aren’t worth it for either of you.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 28, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free