What is the penalty for driving without a license in Montana?
What happens if I get stopped? My license has actually been suspended, but I still need to drive (there's no public transportation where I live).
“A person who operates a vehicle while on a suspended license in Montana will face:
- jail time
- fines up to $500
- an extended license suspension
Driving while suspended carries increased penalties if the suspension was related to a DUI incident. If convicted of this offense, you must:
- serve at least two days in jail with a maximum of six months
- pay a maximum $2,000 fine
- complete up to 40 hours of community service
To avoid further penalties, you’ll also want to carry proof of valid car insurance while driving.”
Did this answer help you?
Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
Have a different question?
You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Read advice from car experts at Jerry
Browse by topics
What others are asking
Is a $700 a month car payment too much?
"I want to buy a car that's $34,900 for 60 months. I'm not sure what the APR is, but the monthly payment is $700. Is this too much to pay?"
Jul 28, 2021
What does your driving record contain?
"I know that car insurance companies look at driving records, but what's on them? What does it mean if someone has a clean record?"
Aug 18, 2021
Can I get financed through CarMax even with bad credit?
"Will CarMax give me financing even if my credit score is 550?"
Jul 28, 2021