What happens if you're caught without car insurance in Missouri?

For leasing a new Honda, I'm being asked to purchase insurance. I'm wondering if it's possible to drive without car insurance legally in Missouri, or if only those leasing a car need to purchase it?

Answer
“In Missouri, driving without auto insurance is actually considered a Class D misdemeanor.
For the first offense, your driver’s license, registration, and license plates are suspended until you prove you’ve obtained insurance. To regain driving privileges, you’ll pay a $20 fee.
For subsequent offenses, the penalties increase. Every conviction will also add four points to your driving record, and if you incur 12 points in 12 months, you’re subject to having your license revoked.
If price is an obstacle for obtaining car insurance, Jerry can help. Jerry pulls quotes from the top 50 companies and delivers the best deals to your phone in minutes.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Aug 03, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.