What happens if you get pulled over without insurance in Los Angeles or the rest of California?

If I don't have insurance and get pulled over, what are the associated costs or fines?

Answer provided by
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 22, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
“Driving without car insurance in Los Angeles and the rest of California is illegal.
The fine for first time offenders ranges from $100 to $20 and $200 to $500 for prolific offenders. If you’re caught numerous times, you may have your car impounded.
If you get in an accident and don’t have proof of insurance, the consequences are much more severe.
You could have your license suspended for up to four years, regardless of fault. You may also have to get an SR22 following the reinstatement of your license.”
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies