What happens if you get pulled over without a valid license in Louisiana?
What are the consequences for being caught without it and what happens if I get in an accident? My license expired.
“In Louisiana, driving without a valid license could result in a misdemeanor charge. Not having a valid license includes people who have never had a license or failed to renew an expired one.
If charged and convicted, you face up to six months in jail and a maximum fine of $500.
If you’re in an accident and have legal car insurance in the state, you can still recover damages unless you’re the driver at fault.”
Did this answer help you?
Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
Have a different question?
You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Read advice from car experts at Jerry
Browse by topics
What others are asking
Can I insure my Mazda under one policy and my Mercedes under another?
"I have my cars at two different residencies and I can get better rates if I insure them with two different policies. Is this possible?"
Jul 27, 2021
What happens if I get caught without a license in Kansas?
If I get into an accident and don't have a license, what will happen? I've never needed one since I only drive occasionally.
Jul 27, 2021
Should I buy a new Mazda CX-9 with cash or take 0.49% financing?
I have the money to pay cash for a brand new Mazda CX-9. However, the dealer is offering 0.49% financing for 48 months, which seems like it's a great option as well. Should I pay cash or take the financing?
Jul 30, 2021