What happens if you drive without car insurance in Massachusetts?

I'm considering letting my insurance lapse to save costs. What happens if I get pulled over for a routine traffic stop and I don't have it?

Answer
“In Massachusetts, it’s considered a civil motor vehicle infraction (CMVI) to drive without an active car insurance policy.
If caught driving without one, you could face:
  • a $500 fine
  • an additional $500 payment or one full year premium of compulsory insurance (whichever is larger)
  • suspension of your driver’s license and registration for 60 days with a $500 fee for reinstatement
  • up to a year in jail
In short, driving without car insurance can be a costly endeavor, but if you’re looking to save money on car insurance, Jerry can help. Jerry compares rates from the top 50 companies and delivers the best deals to your phone in minutes.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Aug 03, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free