What happens if you drive without car insurance in Alabama?

My premiums are high because of my bad credit. What is the penalty for driving without car insurance?

Answer
“Driving without car insurance is illegal in most states, including Alabama. It’s considered a misdemeanor and carries a fine from $500 to $1,000.
You may have your driver’s license and vehicle registration suspended for 180 days or more and have to serve three to six months in jail if caught driving uninsured.
Also, if you are caught without insurance, you will have to pay a $200 reinstatement fee and obtain an SR22 certificate, which will likely increase your premiums.
The costs of being caught without insurance—not to mention the potential consequences if you get into an accident—are substantial.
If your car insurance rates are too high, try using the free Jerry app. Jerry compares rates from the top 50 companies and delivers the best deals to your phone in minutes.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Aug 03, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.