What happens if you drive without a license in New Jersey?

What will be the cost of the ticket if I get pulled over? I sometimes borrow my friend's car to make work deliveries, but my license expired a while ago.

“If you’re driving without a license in New Jersey, you could face a fine of $200 up to $500 and imprisonment in the county jail for up to 60 days.
If you’re driving with an expired license, it’s cheaper to renew it than to pay the consequences of driving without a valid license. The cost to renew a license in New Jersey is $24.
To drive legally in the state, you should also make sure you’re covered by either the state’s minimum required car insurance policy.”
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 28, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free