What happens if you don't purchase car insurance in Pennsylvania?

My mother refuses to purchase car insurance for her Lincoln even though it's registered with the state. What are the consequences of getting caught driving without insurance?

Answer
“In Pennsylvania, getting caught without car insurance could include fines as well suspension of your license and registration.
For a first-time offense, the fine is $300, and the suspension period is 3 months. You can choose to pay a $500 dollar civil penalty to keep your vehicle registration, and you’ll still have to pay to get your driving privileges restored.
If the cost of insurance is a limiting factor for your mother, you can offer to help her find a new policy using a smart comparison app like Jerry. Jerry compares rates from the top providers and delivers the best deals to your phone in minutes.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Aug 03, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Let Jerry’s experts help you find savings on your car insurance!
No long forms or spam · Get quotes from 40+ carriers
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating
4.7/5 Rating on App Store