What happens if you don't have car insurance in Alaska?

I'm considering not renewing my policy since I don't drive that frequently. What happens if I get caught without insurance?

Answer
“It’s illegal to drive without car insurance in Alaska.
The first time you’re caught without insurance, you could face up to 90 days of jail time and a fine of $500. If you get into an accident, you’ll also be required to purchase SR-22 car insurance, which will likely raise your premiums.
For a repeat suspense, you could have your license and registration suspended and face an additional fine.
Save yourself the pain and make sure you have the best rates for your car insurance. Try using the free Jerry app. Jerry compares rates from the top 50 companies and delivers the best deals to your phone in minutes.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Aug 03, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.