What happens if I get into an accident in South Dakota without a license?

I sometimes borrow my friend's truck for deliveries. If I get caught, will he get in trouble? What happens if I get into an accident?

Answer
“In South Dakota, driving a motor vehicle while never having been issued a license is a misdemeanor. If stopped and convicted, you could face a maximum of 30 days in jail and may have to pay up to $500 in fines.
If you get into an accident, your friend’s car insurance rates will also be affected, and, depending on their policy and who’s at fault, you may have to pay out-of-pocket for damages.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 28, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free