What happens if I get caught without a license in Kansas?

If I get into an accident and don't have a license, what will happen? I've never needed one since I only drive occasionally.

Answer
“A first-time conviction for driving without a license in Kansas is a misdemeanor, a crime which carries up to:
  • six months in jail
  • a $1,000 fine
  • a 90-day license suspension
Even though it seems impossible to suspend a license that doesn’t exist, the Kansas Department of Revenue creates an electronic profile that suspends the person from using or obtaining a driver’s license for 90 days.
To avoid further legal penalties, you’ll also want to make sure that the vehicle you’re driving has valid car insurance.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 27, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.