“Getting ready for your first driver’s license is an exciting time, but don’t let the repercussions of driving without a parent or guardian ruin it.
Even if you don’t have a driver’s license yet, you can still receive speeding tickets and other moving violations. It will go under your name and be on file with the DMV.
Most states have determined that driving without a license is a misdemeanor; however the consequences vary greatly depending on where you live. For example, if you live in Oklahoma, the fine for the first incident is only $50.
If you live in a state like Indiana, it is much different! Indiana considers this a felony and will issue jail time between six months and two years, along with a ticket up to $10,000.
Other states will have you file an SR-22
(certificate of financial responsibility) and pay an additional fine every year for three years
As you can see, it can really add up. This is in addition to how much your parents will have to pay just to add a youthful driver to their policy.
It is best to talk to your parents and let them know how seriously you are taking the driving lessons. Maybe they can enroll you in an additional driver safety course so you can have more time on the road.
You can also show them the different ways they can save on their insurance policy by using the free Jerry
app. Jerry collects auto and home quotes from over 50 companies and brings the lowest
available rates right to your phone.”