What happens if I drive without car insurance in Texas?

I still have my California insurance but have not transferred by title or insurance to Texas yet. What happens if I get caught driving with a different state insurance now?

Answer
“If you still have car insurance in another state, you should be legal to drive until you establish residency. In Texas, you have 30 days from the time of your move to register your vehicle in the state.
If you fail to purchase car insurance by that time, you could face some financial consequences. The first time you get caught driving without valid insurance you will be cited and fined between $175 and $350.
The severity of consequences increases after your first offense. You could be fine anywhere from $350 to $1,000 and risk having your license suspended or revoked.
To avoid all of these consequences, try purchasing a new policy through a smart tool like Jerry. A licensed broker in all 50 states, Jerry offers end-to-end support, gathers affordable quotes, and helps you switch plans.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Aug 03, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free