What happens if I drive without a license in New York?

Do I need to get my license renewed? Usually, I'm able to take public transportation, but occasionally I borrow my boyfriend's car to visit my parents. Am I covered under my parents' car insurance?

Answer
“Yes, you need a valid license to drive in New York.
According to the vehicle traffic code, driving without a license in New York is a serious misdemeanor offense that carries a penalty of a fine between $75 to $300, jail time of up to 15 days, or both.
While you’ll likely be covered to some extent under your parents’ car insurance policy, if you’re driving–even occasionally–you should ask to be added as a driver. You can also purchase your own insurance policy, like non-owners car insurance.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 28, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free