What happens if I drive without a license in Illinois?

I've let my license expire. What are the penalties if I get pulled over?

Answer
“Under Illinois law, you may face a maximum penalty of 180 days in jail and a $1,500.00 fine for driving without a valid license if the offense is charged as a Class B misdemeanor.
You could also face a two-month license suspension for your first conviction.
If you want to drive legally in the state, you’ll need a valid license along with car insurance that meets the state minimum car insurance requirements.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 27, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Let Jerry’s experts help you find savings on your car insurance!
No long forms or spam · Get quotes from 40+ carriers
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating
4.7/5 Rating on App Store