What happens if I don’t change my driver's license when I move from Wisconsin to Minnesota?

Are there penalties if I don’t update my license? I’m moving from Wisconsin to Minnesota and I want to know if there are penalties for not updating my license.

Answer
“Congratulations on the move!
In Minnesota, you must apply for a new license within 30 days of residency. Within 60 days, you must also change your:
  • Motor vehicle title
  • Registration
  • Insurance coverage
If you don’t update your license, you could pay a fine or receive a citation from law enforcement.
Remember that each state has its own minimum insurance requirements, and Minnesota might have higher limits required than Wisconsin. If you want help finding the right coverage at the best price, try using the Jerry app. Jerry compares rates from the top 50 providers and delivers the best deals to your phone in minutes for free.
Moving can be stressful, but I hope you enjoy your new home!”
avatar
Rachel Juillerat
Answered on Sep 10, 2021
Rachel Juillerat has her Master's in Publishing & Writing from Emerson College. You can view her work in the Independent, Cupid's Pulse, and the Penmen Review. She has worked in personal finance for five years before transitioning to insurance. She lives in Boston, where she spends her time exploring small New England towns, learning new skills, and napping through her cat's zoomies.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Let Jerry’s experts help you find savings on your car insurance!
No long forms or spam · Get quotes from 40+ carriers
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating
4.7/5 Rating on App Store