What happens if I don't add my 16-year-old to my car insurance policy?
What are the consequences if I don't insure my teenage son? My son is in the process of getting his license. Given the astronomical rates for insuring male teenagers, I'm not keen on adding him to my policy.
Answer provided by
Answered on Jul 20, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
“If there is going to be another licensed driver in your household, most car insurance policies will require that you add that driver to your policy, especially if they are financially dependent on you and will be driving your vehicle.
While there is no federal or state law that requires a person to be 18 years old to get a car insurance policy, you may have to cosign for the policy if your son has his own ride.
With all of the red tape, you should either add your son to your policy (if you’re going to let him drive your car) or tell him to take the bus until he reaches 18.
Adding a young driver can be expensive, but there are affordable policies. You or your son can compare rates using the smart comparison tool, Jerry. Jerry pulls quotes from the top 45 companies in under a minute.”
Did this answer help you?
Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
Have a different question?
You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Browse by topics
What others are asking
Can traffic police ask me for proof of insurance during a routine stop in North Carolina?
Can traffic cops stop me and ask for my car insurance? If I get pulled over in North Carolina, for example, is this a possibility I should prepare for?
Jul 20, 2021
Can I insure my daughter's CR-V on my policy?
Can insure my daughter on my policy? My daughter is 21 and owns a Honda CR-V but still can't afford to buy car insurance on her own.
Jul 20, 2021