What are the risks of driving without car insurance in Tennessee?

Besides getting into an accident, which is obviously always a risk when driving, what else can I expect if I drive without insurance? Can I be fined for non-compliance?

Answer
“As an uninsured driver, it’s not just accidents that put you at risk.
Even in a routine traffic stop, if you’re caught without valid car insurance in Tennessee, you will be fined $300 and have your driver’s license and registration suspended until you can provide proof of insurance and retake your driver’s license exam.
To get your license and registration back, you’ll have to pay a $65 restoration fee, a $50 fee to the commissioner of safety, and file an SR-22 certificate for three years.
Considering these consequences, driving without car insurance is a very risky and pricey endeavor.
It’s always best to have insurance so that you can protect yourself and other drivers. Having the proper coverage will even save you money in teh event of an accident and prevent you paying unneccessary fees. Use Jerry to help you compare rates from the top providers and have the best deals delivered to your phone in minutes.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Aug 03, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free