What are the penalties for driving without car insurance in New Mexico?

I want to purchase a new Honda Civic, but I think insurance prices will be pricier. What happens if I don't get insurance?

Answer
“Driving without car insurance in New Mexico is a misdemeanor offense and can result in:
  • the suspension of your vehicle registration
  • a $300 fine
  • up to 90 days of jail time
Also, it’s unlikely you’ll be able to purchase a new vehicle without also purchasing car insurance, so be sure to factor that into the price.
If price is an obstacle for obtaining car insurance, Jerry can help. Jerry pulls quotes from the top 50 companies and delivers the best deals to your phone in minutes.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Aug 03, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free