What are the penalties for driving without a license in Indiana?

I know how to drive, but what happens if I get asked for a license? I had a permit, but after that expired I never got a license.

Answer
“Driving without ever having been issued a license in Indiana can result in a Class C misdemeanor conviction, which carries up to 60 days in jail and a maximum fine of $500.
A second or subsequent offense is a class A misdemeanor, which can result in up to one year in jail and a maximum of $5,000 in fines.
To legally drive in Indiana, you’ll also need to meet the state minimum car insurance requirements.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 27, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Let Jerry’s experts help you find savings on your car insurance!
No long forms or spam · Get quotes from 40+ carriers
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating
4.7/5 Rating on App Store