What are the penalties for driving without a license in Florida?

I don't have a license, but I sometimes borrow my buddy's car. What happens if I get stopped by the cops?

Answer
“If you’re caught driving without a valid license in Florida, you could face:
  • second-degree misdemeanor charges
  • a fine as high as $500
  • up to 60 days in jail
That said, if you have no previous criminal record, it’s unlikely you’ll be sentenced to jail. Still, it’s a hefty price to pay compared to the relatively low cost of obtaining a valid driver’s license.
Make sure that if you’re driving a friend’s car that you are covered under their car insurance policy to help mitigate the repercussions.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 27, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Let Jerry’s experts help you find savings on your car insurance!
No long forms or spam · Get quotes from 40+ carriers
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating
4.7/5 Rating on App Store