What are the penalties for driving without a license in Colorado?

What are the consequences for getting caught driving without one? My license expired and I haven't renewed it yet.

Answer
“The penalty for driving with an expired license is an infraction under Colorado‘s law and incurs a fine of $15–$100.
A second or subsequent infraction will add 6 points to your Colorado DMV driving record, which could affect your car insurance rates.
If you have never been issued a license, then the violation is considered a misdemeanor and could result in 10–90 days in county jail and/or a fine of $150–$300.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 27, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free