What are the consequences of driving without insurance in Wisconsin?
What would happen if I was caught driving without insurance or got into an accident?
Answer provided by
Answered on Jul 09, 2021
Emily Maracle is a car insurance specialist living in New York. Originally from the Pacific Northwest, she has a degree in English Literature and a background in customer service. She enjoys cooking, gardening, and living sustainably. In the future, she can't wait to upgrade to a hybrid or electric car.
“If you are caught driving without the state minimum car insurance required in Wisconsin, you will face fines up to $5,000.
If you’re in an accident or are stopped by police, you are required to show proof of insurance.
If you cannot, the fines are as followed:
- Up to a $500 fine for operating a motor vehicle without insurance
- Up to a $10 fine for failure to show proof of insurance at the time of the stop/accident
- Up to a $5,000 fine for providing fraudulent proof of insurance
Apart from fines, you are financially responsible for any damage or injuries you cause in an accident without insurance. If you’re unable to pay for the damages, you could face a lawsuit that may result in your wages being garnished or your assets liquidated.”
Did this answer help you?
Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
Have a different question?
You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Read advice from car experts at Jerry
Controversial New Car Insurance Law Could Mean Higher Rates for Florida Drivers
Lisa Steuer McArdle
Jul 08, 2021
Browse by topics
What others are asking
Why do financed vehicles get repossessed?
Could your vehicle get repossessed for not having insurance? Or is it only because you don't pay your loan?
Jul 09, 2021
Does expired car insurance still cover you?
My insurance expired yesterday. Would my car still be protected? Am I still able to drive?
Jul 09, 2021