What are the consequences of driving if I get caught with no license in Georgia?
I'm 17 and I just bought my friend's old truck. I can't get my license until I turn 18 next year since I dropped out of school. What will happen if I drive it before then and get caught?
Answer provided by
Answered on Jun 15, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
“While some states consider driving without a license a minor violation, Georgia classifies this offense as a misdemeanor, which means the consequences are up to 12 months in jail or a hefty $1000 fine. It could also affect your ability to maintain a license in the future.
In other words, driving without a license is probably not worth the risk. In addition to needing a license, you’ll also need to purchase car insurance that meets the state minimum car insurance requirements to drive legally. “
Did this answer help you?
Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
Have a different question?
You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Read advice from car experts at Jerry
Browse by topics
What others are asking
Will my insurance cover costs after my uncle got into an accident with my car?
My uncle got into an accident while driving my car and he's at fault. I have full-coverage insurance for the car. Will my insurer cover costs for damages and injuries?
Feb 24, 2021
What does Allstate roadside assistance cover?
Will my roadside assistance tow my truck from my driveway? My car is stuck in my driveway and I need it towed.
Jun 23, 2021
What do I do with my child's car insurance if she's going to school in another state?
Will I need to change my policy when my daughter moves away? We live in California and in the fall my daughter will be attending the University of Arizona. She currently drives one of our cars and is on our policy.
Jul 23, 2021