What are the consequences for getting caught driving without a license in Michigan?

Will there be consequences if I get caught driving without one? I lost my license during a recent move.

Answer
“If you were issued a license but get caught not carrying it while driving in Michigan, you can be convicted of a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 90 days in jail, a fine of up to $100, or both.
If you’re moving from out of state, you’ll need to obtain a valid license within 30 days.
Also make sure your car insurance meets the state minimum car insurance requirements to drive legally in Michigan.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 28, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free