What are the consequences for driving without a license in Iowa?

My license is suspended, but I still need to drive to get to work. What happens if I get caught?

“Driving while your license is suspended is a misdemeanor in Iowa.
With a conviction, you will face:
  • a $250 to $1,500 fine
  • up to 30 days in jail
  • driver’s license suspension (in most cases)
If you’re caught without car insurance, you could have up to a $250 fine, and a court may even choose to suspend your driving privileges for up to 12 months.”
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 27, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free