What are the consequences for driving without a license in California?

I don't have my license yet, but I've been borrowing my mom's car. What happens if I get pulled over?

Answer
“In California, driving without a license is what’s called a wobbler offense, which means it can be charged either as a misdemeanor or an infraction.
If charged as a misdemeanor, you could face up to six months in jail and a $1,000 court fine.
If charged as an infraction, the maximum penalty is a $250 court fine.
To avoid further penalties, also make sure your car insurance in California meets the state minimum car insurance requirements.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 27, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.