Is spot delivery legal in California?

Are spot deliveries legal in California? I plan on buying a used Mazda soon, but I don’t want to get scammed or ripped off.

Answer
“A spot delivery is illegal in California; however, a dealership can let a buyer take the car home without financing for 10 days.
Under California’s laws, a dealer has the right to ask you to return the vehicle within 10 days if they can’t find financing. The dealer cannot blame you or charge you if they fail to find financing. The dealer:
  • has to refund your money.
  • has to return your trade-in (if applicable).
  • cannot charge you for any miles incurred on the car you purchased.
You are not obligated to renegotiate your contract or sign a new one when you return your car.
Once you get a good price for your new car, keep in mind that lenders will require full coverage. The higher the coverage, the higher your car insurance rates, but that doesn’t mean you have the empty your pockets for the proper coverage. Try using the Jerry app to help you save money. Jerry compares rates from 50 of the top providers and delivers the best deals to your phone in minutes for free.”
avatar
Rachel Juillerat
Answered on Sep 10, 2021
Rachel Juillerat has her Master's in Publishing & Writing from Emerson College. You can view her work in the Independent, Cupid's Pulse, and the Penmen Review. She has worked in personal finance for five years before transitioning to insurance. She lives in Boston, where she spends her time exploring small New England towns, learning new skills, and napping through her cat's zoomies.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.