Is carrying only state-minimum liability car insurance a good idea in Florida?
I'm a frugal person, only buying used cars with cash and then carrying the minimum amount of coverage possible. Should I purchase the minimum amount of insurance possible, or do I need better coverage?
Answer provided by
Answered on Apr 22, 2021
Eric Schad has been a freelance writer for nearly a decade, as well as an SEO specialist and editor for the past five years. Before getting behind the keyboard, he worked in the finance and music industries (the perfect combo). With a wide array of professional and personal experiences, he’s developed a knack for tone and branding across many different verticals. Away from the computer, Schad is a blues guitar shredder, crazed sports fan, and always down for a spontaneous trip anywhere around the globe.
“Florida is a no-fault car insurance state, meaning that your insurance pays for your own medical bills, regardless of who caused the crash. Currently, the state minimum for car insurance coverage is $10,000 in personal injury protection to pay for your medical bills and $10,000 in property damage liability to cover property damage to the other person.
While this type of coverage is undoubtedly cheap, it’s far too low in most cases. Medical bills and car damage can get very expensive, and with this type of coverage, you’d probably have to pay out of pocket—or worse, you might get sued by the other driver for damages.
As a general rule, you should:
- Increase your personal injury protection to $100,000 or more to cover your bills.
- Get $50,000 to $100,000 in property damage liability.
- Add uninsured motorist coverage (even though it’s not required by law) at $100,000 per person and $200,000 per accident.
This may seem like overkill, but in a major accident, you’ll be glad you have it. Make sure to shop for car insurance quotes online to get the best rate.”
Did this answer help you?
Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
Have a different question?
You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Browse by topics
What others are asking
Are you assessed repo fees if you paid the car loan balance before the vehicle was repossessed?
I have a car loan, but I lost my job and couldn't pay for two months. But an inheritance from my grandpa was finally settled in court, so I had the money to pay the balance of the loan. Since there was a repo order out on my car but they never repossessed it, do I still have to pay the repo fees?
May 05, 2021
Why did my uninsured motorist claim go under my collision coverage instead of my uninsured motorist property damage coverage?
"My vehicle was deemed a total loss at $35,000 after an accident with an uninsured driver. I have a $1,000 deductible for collision and a $250 deductible for uninsured motorist property damage. My insurance made a mistake with the initial claim as my property damage limit is $25,000. I now have to pay an additional $750 for my collision deductible as they switched the claim. Why am I paying for their mistake?"
May 10, 2021
Do both cars on my insurance policy have to have the same coverage?
I have a 2011 Kia Soul and a 2020 Kia Sportage on my policy. I am thinking of removing full coverage from the Soul, but I want to keep full coverage on the Sportage. Am I able to carry different coverage on the same policy?
May 06, 2021