How much time do I have to change my address in New York?
When do I have to update the address on my driver's license for New York state? I have been here for a little over a month and I assumed the time frame was 60 days. My buddy told me I actually only had 2 weeks, and now I am worried!
“New York State has a much shorter time frame than the other states—they require the driver’s license and registration updated within the first ten days of moving into the state.
The penalty for failing to notify the DMV is a $75 fine and a $93 surcharge. The good news is that if you haven’t been ticketed for this infraction, they have no way of knowing how long you have lived there. Just take care of the update right away.
New York also has different coverage limits and requirements for your insurance policy. Since you will have to update your policy with your new address anyway, take the time to shop for a new policy that meets New York’s minimum insurance requirements.
Navigating a new state’s insurance laws can be a daunting process, but you don’t have to do it alone. The Jerry app will help make this easy! Jerry collects quotes from the top providers and brings the lowest available rates right to the app on your phone for free.”
Did this answer help you?
Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
Have a different question?
You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Let Jerry’s experts help you find savings on your car insurance!
No long forms or spam · Get quotes from 40+ carriers
Read advice from car experts at Jerry
Browse by topics
What others are asking
Is it illegal to not change your address on your driver's license when you move?
I tend to move around a lot, about once a year, and I feel like I constantly have to change my driver's license. What happens if I just keep it the same? What benefit is there to changing it?
Aug 25, 2021
Do I have to change the registration on my car when I move out of state?
I am moving from Texas to Georgia and was wondering if I had to register my car and change my driver's license. I will only be in Georgia for about two years; renewing my plates and registration online for Texas will be much easier for me. Is there any way to wait until I get back to Texas?
Aug 25, 2021
If I haven't updated my registration yet, will the insurance company deny my claim?
I moved to Minnesota about a week ago and haven't had a chance to update my insurance policy or car registration. I was in a car accident yesterday that I know wasn't my fault. Can the insurance company deny my claim since the accident was in a different state than listed on my policy?
Aug 25, 2021