Can you get a DUI for driving high in Connecticut?

Sometimes I drive home before I’ve fully sobered up and I get paranoid that I’ll get pulled over and arrested. Will I be charged with a DUI if I get caught driving with weed in my system in Connecticut?

Liz Jenson · Answered on Dec 19, 2022
Reviewed by Shannon Martin, Licensed Insurance Agent.
Yes, you can get a DUI for driving high in Connecticut.
Punishments for this kind of charge can include:
  • Up to six months in jail
  • $500 to $1,000 in fines
  • License suspension for 45 days
In short, if you ever want to leave a party and you are intoxicated, have a sober friend drive you home, take a taxi, or call a ridesharing service. While weed is gaining acceptance in the US, driving while impaired puts you and those around you in danger.
Did you know that DUIs increase your car insurance rates? Fortunately, Jerr​​y can help you find the best rates on the car insurance coverage you need in less than a minute.
Just download the app, create a free account, and choose from a list of customized quotes for you to start saving an average of $887 per year!
View full answer 
Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free