Can you drive without car insurance in South Dakota?
I'm a safe driver and have only ever gotten pulled over once for a traffic ticket. How risky it is really to drive without insurance?
“Driving without car insurance in a state that legally mandates it will always be a risky endeavor.
In South Dakota, a conviction for driving without proof of insurance is considered a misdemeanor punishable by 30 days in jail, a $100 fine, or both.
In addition, if caught without insurance, your license will be suspended for at least 30 days and for up to one year. You’ll also need to file proof of financial responsibility, or an SR-22 form with the state for three years following reinstatement of driving privileges.
These risks don’t include the additional costs of getting into an accident while uninsured. Instead of risking your driving privileges, try using a smart, licensed broker like Jerry to find better prices on car insurance.”
Did this answer help you?
Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
Have a different question?
You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Read advice from car experts at Jerry
Browse by topics
What others are asking
What happens if you drive without insurance in South Carolina?
I have an old Jeep that I don't think I need to purchase insurance for. The only thing I'm worried about is being caught without insurance. What happens if I get pulled over?
Aug 03, 2021
Do usury laws apply to all lenders?
I'm going to be getting a new car and have to apply for loans. I want to be sure I get a good deal. Do usury laws apply to every lender?
Jul 30, 2021
What are the penalties for driving without car insurance in Rhode Island?
My daughter doesn't have her own insurance policy. What are the penalties if she gets pulled over?
Aug 03, 2021