Can you drive without car insurance in Ohio?

I moved to Ohio from New Hampshire, where you don't have to purchase car insurance to drive legally in the state. What are the penalties if you don't purchase car insurance in Ohio?

Answer
“Driving without car insurance in Ohio has severe and immediate consequences.
For a first-time offense, your license will be suspended and a variety of fines will take effect. The fees are $160 in total and include:
  • $100 reinstatement fee
  • $50 compliance fee
  • $10 registrar fee
Rather than risk paying these fines, find cheap car insurance policies with a smart app like Jerry. Jerry compares rates from the top 50 companies and delivers the best deals to your phone in minutes.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Aug 03, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free