Can you drive without car insurance in Montana?

I use my vehicle very irregularly and only in my rural residential area. I don't think I need to purchase insurance for accidents, but am I legally liable if I don't?

Answer
“No matter your driving habits, you’re legally required to purchase auto insurance for a vehicle you own and operate in Montana.
Driving without car insurance in Montana is a misdemeanor offense, and the penalty for a no-insurance citation is between $250 and $500 or up to ten days in jail for a first offense. Subsequent offenses will carry additional costs.
If price is an obstacle for obtaining car insurance, Jerry can help. Jerry pulls quotes from the top 50 companies and delivers the best deals to your phone in minutes.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Aug 03, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free