Can you drive without car insurance in Michigan?

I'm a teen driver, but I want to buy my own car soon. The only thing is that car insurance seems too expensive where I live. Do I have to buy it?

Answer
“In the state of Michigan, driving without car insurance is a misdemeanor, which is publishable with:
  • a fine between $200 and $500
  • up to one year in jail (or both)
  • possible license suspended for 30 days, or until you can provide proof of insurance
Insurance as a teenage driver can be expensive. See if you can be added to your parents’ policy or find try using the free Jerry app to find the best savings.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Aug 03, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Let Jerry’s experts help you find savings on your car insurance!
No long forms or spam · Get quotes from 40+ carriers
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating
4.7/5 Rating on App Store