Can you drive without car insurance in Hawaii?

I'm considering not renewing my policy and letting my coverage lapse. What will be the consequences if I get pulled over?

Answer
“According to Hawaii state laws, all drivers are required to provide proof of car insurance.
Failure to obtain insurance could result in fines of $500-$1000, driver’s license suspension for a minimum of three months, impoundment of vehicle, and jail time. You’ll also be required to obtain SR-22 car insurance.
If price is an obstacle for obtaining car insurance, Jerry can help. Jerry pulls quotes from the top 50 companies and delivers the best deals to your phone in minutes.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Aug 03, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.