Can you drive without a license in Vermont?

Will it make a difference if a licensed driver is in the car if I get pulled over? My husband has a license, but sometimes I drive us both to the store or appointments.

Answer
“If you’re driving the car when you get pulled over, the penalties for driving without a license will apply to you regardless of the passengers.
Driving a motor vehicle without a license is considered a traffic violation in Vermont. A first offense can result in a $162 fine, but a subsequent violation within two years will result in up to 60 days in jail and up to $5,000 in fines.
Getting pulled over or in an accident could also affect your husband’s car insurance rates and the insurance companies could refuse to pay if the car was being operated by an unlicensed driver.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 28, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free