Can traffic police ask me for proof of insurance during a routine stop in North Carolina?
Can traffic cops stop me and ask for my car insurance? If I get pulled over in North Carolina, for example, is this a possibility I should prepare for?
“Yes, police officers, including traffic police, can ask for your proof of insurance when driving.
Driving without liability coverage is illegal and classified as a misdemeanor offense in North Carolina, as well as many other states.
To avoid penalties or tickets, keep proof of insurance handy in your vehicle. Also, make sure you meet the state minimum car insurance requirements in North Carolina, including:
- $30,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $60,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $25,000 property damage liability per accident
- $30,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
- $60,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident
- $25,000 uninsured motorist property damage coverage per accident”
Did this answer help you?
Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
Have a different question?
You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Browse by topics
What others are asking
Can I insure someone if they live in another state?
Can I add my sister to my car insurance policy if she lives in Louisiana and I live in Alabama? She's struggling financially right now and I want to help her out.
Jul 20, 2021
Does Travelers offer ridesharing insurance in Texas?
I'm currently insured with Travelers and want to start driving for a ridesharing app. Do they provide rideshare insurance?
Jul 16, 2021