Can I go without car insurance in New Hampshire?
I purchased a new vehicle and haven't yet purchased insurance. Do I need to, or can I go without it?
Answer provided by
Answered on Jul 22, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
“New Hampshire is the only state in the country that doesn’t require car insurance without paying any fees to opt out.
If you choose this route, be warned that the State of New Hampshire requires you to pay the full amount of property and bodily damages whether you’re at fault or the other driver is at fault.
Because of the financial burden this might cause, a vast majority of New Hampshirites choose to purchase at least liability coverage to protect themselves from financial ruin.
Keep in mind that medical payments of $1,000 is also required by law. Drivers in New Hampshire pay an average of $475 a year.”
Did this answer help you?
Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
Have a different question?
You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Browse by topics
What others are asking
Is dollar a day insurance in New Jersey good?
I know it's cheap, but is it worth it? What exactly does it cover?
Jul 22, 2021
How long can you go without car insurance in West Virginia?
How long do I have to buy insurance before it's illegal? I just bought a car from a friend and haven't registered it or purchased insurance in my name.
Jul 22, 2021