Can I get car insurance in Missouri with only a learner's permit?
I currently have a learner's permit in Missouri, but I'll be getting my license in a few weeks. Can I get car insurance?
Apr 16, 2021
Answer provided by
Answered at Apr 16, 2021
“If you live in Missouri, you don’t need car insurance if you have a learner’s permit, provided you’re driving a car that’s insured by the registered owner.
However, you can get the ball rolling by being added to your parents’ or legal guardian’s insurance now. As long as you provide the insurance company with your license within 30 to 45 days of being added to the policy, you should be fine.”
Did this answer help you?
Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
Have a different question?
You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Browse by topics
What others are asking
Can I insure my car on another person's policy?
Can I register a car under my own name but insure it under my sister’s policy?
Feb 24, 2021
How much will my car insurance go up if I'm a teen who was at fault in an accident?
I'm a 17-year-old male who got into an accident. How much will my car insurance rates go up as a result?
Apr 13, 2021
Do I need to keep full coverage on 2013 Toyota Corolla once I pay it off?
I'm going to be paying off my car soon and I'm considering dropping my full-coverage insurance. My six-month premium would be cut in half with just liability. My car isn't in the best shape, so I'm not really concerned about damage.
May 07, 2021