Can I drive without car insurance in Utah?

I have two cars: my Toyota Camry, which I use for work, and an old beater that I just use for the occasional back-road trip or delivery. I have a car insurance policy on the former, but I let the policy on the beater lapse because I don't really use it. Can I be fined for not having insurance on both cars?

Answer
“No matter your driving habits or the make of the vehicle, you need to carry a car insurance policy on every vehicle you own and operate in the state.
Failure to hold a valid insurance policy could result in a misdemeanor conviction, for which the fine may not be less than $400 for a first offense and $1,000 for a second and subsequent offense within three years of a previous conviction.
The Utah Department of public safety is also required to suspend your driver’s license and may not renew or re-issue your license until you give the agency proof of owner’s or operator’s security and pay a reinstatement fee.
Failure to insure one car will affect your ability to drive the other. When insuring both vehicles, you may qualify for a multi-car discount. To find the best rates on multi-car insurance policies, use the free Jerry app. Jerry compares rates from the top providers and delivers the best deals to your phone in minutes.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Aug 03, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free