Can I drive without car insurance in New Jersey?

My insurance premiums have gotten pricey and I'm considering letting my policy lapse. What will happen if I do and get into an accident?

Answer
“The penalties for driving without car insurance in New Jersey can be severe.
For a first-time violation, you can:
  • be fined between $300 and $1,000
  • face license suspension
  • face community service requirements
If you’re in an accident, you’ll have to face these consequences in addition to the damages from the accident. Not purchasing car insurance now could make it harder and more costly to obtain in the future.
If price is an obstacle for obtaining car insurance, Jerry can help. Jerry pulls quotes from the top 50 companies and delivers the best deals to your phone in minutes.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Aug 03, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free