Can I drive without a license in New Hampshire?

What happens if I get caught without a license now? I'm a new resident of the state and where I lived before I didn't drive.

Answer
“Unlicensed driving is a misdemeanor in New Hampshire, carrying a fine of up to $1,200.
An unlicensed driver who also commits a traffic violation will be ineligible for a driver’s license for 12 months. By driving without a license, you could also be affecting your ability to obtain one in the future.
While obtaining a license is mandatory by law, car insurance is not required to legally operate a vehicle in New Hampshire. That said, it’s always a good idea to purchase a policy if you’re going to be driving regularly.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 28, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free