As a teenager who just got my license, how much can I expect to pay for insurance in Connecticut?
"I've had my learner's permit for two years and have been driving with my dad. I want to purchase insurance for a Mitsubishi 3000GT SL. How much will it cost? Will the fact that I've been driving for two years (even with a learner's permit) give me a better rate?"
Sophie Newman · Answered on Jul 27, 2021
Reviewed by Shannon Martin, Licensed Insurance Agent.
“There are many factors involved in calculating your car insurance rates, including your age, location, type of car, and driving history.
Unfortunately, companies base rates starting with the date you were first licensed, so they will classify you as a new driver. Insurance rates for sports cars will also be expensive.
You might get better rates by being added to your parents’ insurance instead of looking for a policy on your own. But if you do want to shop for your own insurance, be sure to compare rates by using tools like Jerry.”
View full answer
WHY YOU CAN TRUST JERRY
Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.
Related Questions and Articles
How does first-year home insurance escrow work if I pay in full upfront?
I've been approved for a FHA loan. The agent says I need to pay for the home insurance a year in advance. So does this mean I don't need to pay into escrow for home insurance in the first year?
Mar 18, 2021
How much can I expect to pay for my own car insurance plan as an 18-year-old driver?
I just turned 18 and I'm going to get my first car soon. I have to get my own car insurance plan since my dad won't put me on his. How much do you think I'll pay?
Apr 12, 2021
How can I get car insurance if I'm going to be moving from Connecticut to New Jersey?
I am buying a new car and need insurance to complete the deal. I will be moving to New Jersey in three months. I'm looking at quotes online and there are only options for six- or 12-month policies. Can I get a shorter-term policy? Should I be looking at carriers that insure in both states?
Apr 20, 2021
Lemon Laws in North Dakota
North Dakota’s lemon laws apply to new vehicles, purchased or leased by a North Dakota resident, for the first year of ownership or the length of the warranty.
SR-22 in New Jersey: What You Need to Know
In New Jersey, you’ll need your insurance company to file an SR-22 form to reinstate your driver’s license after a major driving violation.
Browse More Content
Insurance in Your State
What Others Are Asking
Can a creditor open an old car loan and send it to collections?
"I paid off a car loan three years ago. In the past week, I've received calls and letters about this loan, saying that I still owe money on it. How is this possible?"
Jul 27, 2021
What happens if I get caught driving with a suspended license in Missouri?
"I had my license suspended due to high BAC. I still need to commute to work. What are the consequences if I get pulled over and the cops find out my license is suspended?"
Jul 27, 2021
Can an 18-year-old get approved for a small car loan?
"I just turned 18 and I want to get a car to go to school and my job. I want to spend about $6,000, and I have $2,000 for a down payment. Can I get approved for a car loan?"
Jul 27, 2021
Read Advice From Car Experts At Jerry
Is Metromile Roadside Assistance Worth It?
Metromile roadside assistance offers basic towing and labor coverage for pay-per-mile insurance customers.
Why Is My Car Insurance Rate So High?
Your age, driving record, coverage needs, and credit score are all reasons for high insurance rates—but there are simple ways to reduce your premium!
Browse By Topics
Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free
No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies