You are able to keep the insurance in Nevada because your primary residence is still going to be located in that state. You just want to make sure you carry the correct limits on your policy. California has a minimum limit for your bodily injury of 15/30 ($15,000 for injury or death to one person; $30,000 for injury or death to more than one person) and $5,000 for property damage. As long as your limits are above that amount, you are fine to keep your Nevada policy.
Car insurance after going to collegeAnswered by Home Insurance, Car Insurance Expert Savannah on December 26, 2020
I have Nevada car insurance, but I’m moving to California for college. I’ll return to Nevada when school's out. Where am I supposed to get insurance?
Home Insurance, Car Insurance Expert
Have an insurance question?
Our insurance agents are ready to help you, for free.