How to Renew Your Driver’s License in Wyoming

You can renew your license by mail or online in Wyoming and it will cost you $45 to do so. You can only renew by mail every 10 years.
Written by Sean Boehme
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
background
Photo caption: If you’re looking to save money on your car insurance, the Jerry super app can help you browse quotes quickly and easily. 
Drivers in
Wyoming
will receive an application to renew their driver’s license three months before it expires. You have the option of renewing by mail or in person and the cost is $45 for a standard license.
Renewing your driver’s license might be the last thing on your mind, but you don’t want to forget about it. If you’re caught
driving without a license
you’ll face a fine and other serious penalties, so the best thing you can do is renew your license as soon as you can.
Stick with this guide from the
car insurance
app
Jerry
to learn about where and how you can renew your driver’s license in the state of Wyoming. 
icon
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now

When to renew your driver’s license in Wyoming

You should receive an application to renew your driver’s license 120 days before it expires. You have the option to renew your license before you receive the application, but three months should be enough time for the renewal to process.
If you wait until your license expires, you are at risk of ending up stuck without the ability to drive. 
If you’re unsure of when your license expires, all you have to do is look at the card itself. The expiration date is located near the DOB on your license. 

How to renew your driver’s license in Wyoming

Unlike many other states, Wyoming does not allow you to renew your driver’s license online. You can choose between renewing your license by mail or in person. 
No matter how you decide to renew, the fee for a standard license is $45.

Renew your license by mail

If you’d rather not make the trip to the DMV, you will have to
renew your driver’s license by mail
. You can only renew your license by mail once every 10 years, which usually means you can do so every other time your license expires.
You will need to submit a vision test that was performed within one year of renewal. Your reminder will also act as your application form, so you just need to follow the directions and send it to:
Driver Services-WYDOT
5300 Bishop Blvd,
Cheyenne, WY 82009-3340
If you are active-duty military personnel, you can renew by mail as often as you need to. 

Renew your license in person

If you renewed your license by mail the last time, you’ll need to make the trip to the DMV this time. You’ll need to bring a few documents to meet the REAL ID requirements, including:
  • Your passport
  • Proof of your social security number
  • Proof of Wyoming residence
While at the DMV, you’ll complete a vision test and likely have a new photo taken, as well. 

How long does it take to renew a Wyoming driver’s license?

When you renew by mail, you’ll need to wait 30 days for the renewal to process. You’ll then need to wait for your license to arrive in the mail. 
If you renew your license in person, the renewal should be processed more quickly. This is because all of the materials the DMV needs will be in their hands once you’re finished with them. 
MORE: Wyoming electric vehicle incentives

How to save money on car insurance in Wyoming

Once you’ve taken care of renewing your license, you should take a look at your current car insurance plan. If you haven’t recently revisited your plan in a while, you might be paying too much. 
Jerry
is a car insurance comparison app that makes it easy to browse the best quotes from more than 50 top insurers in the country. You can sign up for Jerry in under a minute and our team of experienced agents is happy to answer any questions or help you finalize your new policy.
Jerry users save an average of $887 on their car insurance payments each year.
 “After I bought my new car, the insurance companies tried charging me $315/month.
Jerry
, on the other hand, found me full coverage for only $220/month. Thank you!” —Mari E.
rating reverse-full
"I’m earning
awesome rewards
every week, just for driving safe!”

FAQs

Under no circumstances should you drive with an expired license. If you are caught driving without a valid license, you will face penalties including a fine. 
It’s best to renew your license early so that the renewal is processed before your old license expires.
Unlike most states, there is no option to renew your driver’s license online in Wyoming. You can choose to renew your license in person or by mail, although you can only renew it by mail once every 10 years.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings