What To Do If You Have a Vermont Speeding Ticket

You can either pay for your Vermont speeding ticket outright, or fight it in court to avoid a 21% increase in car insurance rates.
Written by Kianna Walpole
Edited by Sarah Gray
Reviewed by Brice Regling
A speeding ticket in
can carry fines between $47 and $1,197, with additional surcharges and increases for speeding in a work zone. You can either pay the ticket—and experience a 21% rise in your
car insurance
premiums—or choose to fight it.

What to do after a speeding ticket in Vermont

In the 2018-2022 period, 35% of fatal crashes and 31% of serious injuries were speed-related1. As a result, Vermont instills harsh penalties and fines for speeding and
reckless driving
If you were recently charged with exceeding the speed limit, here’s how you can help mitigate your costs and work toward improving your record.
Look at your traffic ticket
Your traffic ticket will include valuable information, such as your charge, fine amount, and applicable court and due dates. You must pay your ticket or enter a “denied” plea within 20 days or you could face additional penalties. 
Choose to pay or fight in Vermont court
Keep in mind that if you choose to pay your ticket, you will be pleading guilty, and will be required to pay a specified waiver penalty fee on top of your charges.
Compare prices for car insurance
Most Vermont drivers who have a speeding ticket on their record often see an increase in premiums by 21% at renewal. To stay on top of future costs, compare prices for car insurance from different providers.

How to pay for a Vermont traffic ticket

According to the Vermont Judiciary, motorists can pay for their speeding tickets and any other violations online, in-person, or by mail
To pay your traffic ticket online, head to the
Vermont Judiciary Public Portal
Select ‘Make Payments’
Search for your charge with either the citation number, your name, or your driver’s license number
If you can’t find your case, you can use the ‘Prepay Fees Online’ option
You can either make a partial payment, or pay the entire balance using a valid credit card. Be aware that there is a 2.39% convenience fee to pay online with a credit card. 
Any payments made by mail will require a check or money order, along with a court copy of the complaint and your plea. No cash is accepted. All letters must then be sent to:
Vermont Judicial Bureau
PO Box 607
White River Junction, VT 05001
If your ticket goes to a collection agency, the Judicial Bureau won’t accept your payments. Rather, you can pay online through the
website, or contact them directly at 1-800-858-4506 for more information.

Getting your Vermont ticket dismissed

If you believe your ticket was issued incorrectly, you can fight the ticket by sending a “denied” plea to the Vermont Judicial Bureau. Be sure to send the plea within 21 days of receiving the ticket.
During this hearing, you will argue your case for a ticket dismissal. Here are a few defenses that could help:
Medical emergency: If you were caught speeding due to a medical emergency, you could have grounds for a ticket dismissal.
Faulty radar or police error: Technology isn’t always accurate. If you feel like you were driving safely for the conditions, or that the radar used to detect your speed was inaccurate, you may be able to have your ticket dismissed.
Malfunctioning speedometer: A faulty speedometer might be a good defense if you didn’t know prior to driving that it was defective. If it wasn’t operating correctly when you were pulled over, it may work in your favor in traffic court.
It’s important to note that drivers with a previously
clean record
might have a better chance at earning a traffic ticket dismissal than someone with multiple infractions.
Pleading ignorance is never a good idea
As a motor vehicle operator, you are expected to know and follow Vermont traffic laws. Pleading ignorance is not a valid defense, regardless of whether you’re a visitor or permanent resident of the state.

Practice your driving skills with telematics

Once you have a speeding ticket in Vermont, unless you can get it dismissed, it will appear on your driving record.
app screenshot
While this will remove you from any good driver discounts you may have when your car insurance renews, you can enroll in a
telematics program
to help build your driving habits and work toward cleaning your record.
, you’ll receive instant feedback about your driving skills, and you can even receive rewards based on your rating.

Calculating your Vermont speeding ticket

A Vermont speeding ticket comes with two types of penalties:
Fines for speeding in Vermont are calculated based on the speed you were going. Fees can increase if you were caught speeding in a school or work zone, or if you’re a commercial driver. To calculate how much you’ll pay, visit the
Vermont Judiciary fine schedule
In addition to fines and fees, drivers will also have 2-10 points placed against their driving record, depending on their speed and whether the moving violation resulted in a crash. These points will remain on your record for up to 2 years.
If your traffic violation is for reckless or negligent operation, you can be charged up to $500 and face 3-6 months in jail. Anyone who accrues 10 or more points in a 2 year period, will lose their driving privileges due to
license suspension
Below is a complete breakdown of the points system laid out by the
Vermont Statutes, Title 23, Chapter 25

The Vermont speeding ticket point system

Speeding offense
Number of demerit points
Number of years on driving record
1-9 mph over the limit
10-19 mph over the limit
20-29 mph over the limit
30+ mph over the limit
1-19 mph over the limit on an interstate highway
20-30+ mph over the limit on an interstate highway
Commercial motor vehicle operating at speeds 15+ mph over the limit
Careless and negligent driving resulting in crash

How to remove points from your Vermont driving record

You cannot remove points from ticket fines off your Vermont driving record. Instead, you will have to wait for them to expire, which can take up to 2 years or longer, depending on your violation.
While you can’t use traffic school as a means to clear your record in the state of Vermont, it is still a good investment. Not only will a defensive driving court help curb bad driving habits, but it can also help you qualify for discounts in the future.

Speeding tickets can increase your car insurance rates at renewal

Your insurer won’t know about your speeding ticket until your policy is up for renewal. At that time, they will assess any changes to your driving record and profile.
Most drivers in Vermont see an increase of 21% in their car insurance premiums after a speeding ticket. But, it’s also important to remember that no two providers
calculate rates the same way
, meaning there’s a possibility you could find cheaper rates with another insurer.
app screenshot
By comparing car insurance quotes with an app like Jerry, you can quickly find lower premiums based on your current driver profile, and potentially save on rising car insurance costs. 
And when it’s getting close to renewal, the automatic reshop feature will find you new quotes and notify you of potential savings available with other providers in your area.

The best car insurance companies after a speeding ticket in Vermont

Here’s how major insurance companies tend to handle rate renewals after a speeding ticket:
Insurance company
Average rate increase after a speeding ticket
American Family
State Farm
Remember: Every insurance company deals with traffic offenses differently. Based on your driving record, the number of years you’ve been with your insurer, and if you plead guilty to your speeding ticket, you could see your insurance rates go higher or lower than the table lists above.
Where'd we get these numbers?
Jerry’s editorial team researched the average rate increase after a speeding ticket for these 10 insurance companies using expert sources from Forbes, NerdWallet, ValuePenguin, WalletHub, Liberty Mutual, The Zebra, and CarInsurance.com. Our data shows the average of the data shared by these sources.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings


Does Vermont report speeding tickets to other states?

Yes. Vermont is a part of the Driver’s License Compact, meaning that they are compelled to share information regarding traffic tickets and violations with other states.

What happens if you don’t pay a ticket in Vermont?

If you don’t pay your speeding ticket in Vermont on time, the state court can charge additional late fees. You have 20 days after receiving your ticket to pay the fine. 

What is the speeding law in Vermont?

Speeding is considered an infraction in Vermont, unless you are charged with excessive speeding or reckless driving. At this point, it becomes a misdemeanor criminal offense.

Is it worth fighting a speeding ticket in Vermont?

If you are confident that your ticket was an error, it may be worth fighting to avoid rising insurance rates and the impact it’ll have on your driving record. However, be aware that if you lose your case, it could cost more than paying the ticket outright.

What is the minimum penalty for a speeding ticket in Vermont?

The minimum penalty for a speeding ticket is around $59 ($47 surcharge plus $5 per mile over the limit, and 15% of the total). 

How much over the speed limit is a felony in Vermont?

Exceeding the posted speed limit by 30 mph or more is a criminal act in Vermont and you will have to appear in court, and face up to 6 months in jail.

How can I tell if my license is suspended in Vermont?

When your license is suspended, you will be mailed a notice. To reinstate your license, you will need to pay the applicable fees to the
Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles Driver’s License

How do I check my driving record in Vermont?

To check your driving record, fill out and submit the
Record Request Form
and submit it to the
Montpelier office
. You will be required to pay the applicable fee listed on the
Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
(DMV) website. 

Why is my license still suspended if I paid my Vermont speeding ticket?

You must meet all the requirements of the court for reinstatement. If you paid your fee and you license hasn’t been reinstated, check with the DMV or the court to see if you need to provide any further information or documentation.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings